Arabian Sands

Author(s): Wilfred Thesiger; Rory Stewart (Foreword by, Introduction by)

Travel

Wilfred Thesiger charts the time he spent living with the Bedu, including his legendary traverses of the Empty Quarter. Wilfred Thesiger is the last of the great British eccentric explorers, a legendary figure renowned for his travels though some of the most inaccessible places on earth. Arabian Sands was his widely acclaimed first book and is recognized as one of the great travel classics. His evocative prose and stunning photographs capture the spirit of the proud tribespeople who became his friends and the harsh landscape he inhabited with them in a way very few westeners have.


Product Information

aFollowing worthily in the tradition of Burton, Lawrence, Philby and Thomas, ["Arabian Sands"] is, very likely, the book about Arabia to end all books about Arabia.a
a"The Daily Telegraph," London
aThe narrative is vividly written, with a thousand little anecdotes and touches which bring back to any who have seen these countries every scene with the colour of real life.a
a"The Sunday Times," London

Sir Wilfred Patrick Thesiger (1910--2003) was a British travel writer born in Addis Ababa in Abyssinia (now Ethiopia). Thesiger is best known for two travel books: Arabian Sands (1959), which recounts his travels in the Empty Quarter of Arabia between 1945 and 1950 and describes the vanishing way of life of the Bedouins, and The Marsh Arabs (1964), an account of the traditional peoples who lived in the marshlands of southern Iraq. Rory Stewart served briefly in the British Army and then as a diplomat in Jakarta and Montenegro. In August 2000 he resigned from the Foreign Office and began walking from Turkey towards Vietnam. His book about the walk, The Places In Between (2004), was a critically applauded account of his experiences in Afghanistan. His second book, The Prince of the Marshes: And Other Occupational Hazards of a Year in Iraq (2006), outlines his experiences as deputy governor of the Iraqi province of Maysan and Senior Advisor in the city of Nasiriyah shortly after coalition forces entered Iraq and describes his struggles to establish a functional government in these regions. Stewart has been awarded the OBE. Stewart currently lives in Kabul, Afghanistan.

General Fields

  • : 9780141442075
  • : Penguin Books, Limited
  • : Penguin Books, Limited
  • : January 2008
  • : 198mm X 129mm X 22mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : illustrations
  • : Wilfred Thesiger; Rory Stewart (Foreword by, Introduction by)
  • : Paperback
  • : English
  • : 915.3
  • : 368