How it is

Author(s): Samuel Beckett


Published in French in 1961, and in English in 1964, 'How It Is" is a novel in three parts, written in short paragraphs, which tell (abruptly, cajolingly, bleakly) of a narrator lying in the dark, in the mud, repeating his life as he hears it uttered - or remembered - by another voice. Told from within, from the dark, the story is tirelessly and intimately explicit about the feelings that pervade his world, but fragmentary and vague about all else therein or beyond. Together with "Molloy", "How It Is" counts for many readers as Beckett's greatest accomplishment in the novel form. It is also his most challenging narrative, both stylistically and for the pessimism of its vision, which continues the themes of reduced circumstance, of another life before the present, and the self-appraising search for an essential self, which were inaugurated in the great prose narratives of his earlier trilogy. She sits aloof ten yards fifteen yards, She looks up looks at me says at last to herself all is well, He is working my head, Where is my head, It rests on the table, My hand trembles on the table, She sees I am not sleeping, The wind blows tempestuous, The little clouds drive before it, The table glides from light to darkness, Darkness to light. This title is edited by Edouard Magessa O'Reilly.


Available Stock:

Add to Cart

Click & Collect

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

The first time this novel has been published by Faber, with a brand new introduction and edited by Edouard Magessa O'Reilly.

Samuel Beckett was born in Dublin in 1906. He was educated at Portora Royal School and Trinity College, Dublin, where he graduated in 1927. His made his poetry debut in 1930 with Whoroscope and followed it with essays and two novels before World War Two. He wrote one of his most famous plays, Waiting for Godot, in 1949 but it wasn't published in English until 1954. Waiting for Godot brought Beckett international fame and firmly established him as a leading figure in the Theatre of the Absurd. He received the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1961. Beckett continued to write prolifically for radio, TV and the theatre until his death in 1989.

General Fields

  • : 9780571243747
  • : Faber and Faber
  • : Faber and Faber
  • : November 2009
  • : 198mm X 128mm X 17mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Samuel Beckett
  • : Paperback
  • : 843.912
  • : 160